The Ministry of Highways & Road Development is the apex organization in Sri Lanka for the Highways & Road Development sector. It is responsible for the formulation of policies, programmes and projects in regard to the subjects of Highways and all subjects that come under the purview of Departments and Statutory Institutions under the Ministry, over‐all National Policies that may be adopted by the Government to achieve the socio-economic development, mobility, connectivity and accessibility needs of the people of Sri Lanka.


  • Formulating national policies for highway sector in achieving national development goals
  • Providing high mobility among townships, efficient connectivity among economic centers and improving accessibility for rural areas
  • Maintain the road network in excellent standards to contribute sustainable development
  • Providing Intelligent Transport System (ITS) for efficient traffic management
  • Investing on capacity enhancement of road sector to ensure high level service and user friendly roads
  • Invest in research and development for enhancement of the road sector
  • Enhance road safety measures for road users
U. H. C. Priyantha Additional Secretary (Administration)
D. V. T. P. Dayananda Senior Assistant Secretary (Administration)
Saradie Wickramarathne Director (Project Management)
A.S. K. Amarakoon Legal Officer
Responsible Officers Name
Additional Secretary (Administration) Mr. U.H.C. Priyantha (SLAS) (Special Grade)
Senior Assistant Secretary (Administration) Mrs. D.V.T.P. Dayananda (SLAS) (Class I)
Director(Project Management) Mrs. Saradie Wickramarathne (SLAS) (Class I)
Assistant Secretary (Administration)
Assistant Secretary(Project Management)
Legal Officer Ms. A. Shantha Kokilani Amarakoon
Administrative Officer
Translator Mrs.F.Z. Begum
Translator Mr. M.A.S.S. Wijerathna
Learn More
J.K. N. S. Perera Chief Financial Officer
T. A. D. C. N. Weerackody Chief Accountant
L. G. S. Dushyanthi Accountant - Grade I
K.L.C. J. Lekamge Accountant (Payment)
Responsible Officers Name
Chief Financial Officer Mr. J.K. Nilupul S. Perera (SLAcS) (Special Grade)
Chief Accountant Mrs. T.A.D.C.N. Weerakkody (SLAcS) (Class I)
Accountant (Projects) Mrs. L.G.S. Dusyanthi (SLAcS) (Class I)
Accountant (Payments)
Accountant (Accounts) Mrs. K.L.C.J. Lekamge (SLAcs) (Class III)
Learn More
D. K. T. Samanmali Chief Internal Auditor
Responsible Officers Name
Chief Internal Auditor Mrs. D.K.T. Samanmali (SLAcS) (Class I)
Learn More
K. B. V. Indrapala Additional Secretary (Engineering)
D. M. K. S. Dissanayake Director (Engineering)
P. P. Jayasekara Assistant Director (Engineering)
Responsible Officers Name
Additional Secretary (Engineering) Eng. K.B.V. Indrapala (SLES) (Special Grade)
Director (Engineering) Eng. D.M.K.S. Dissanayake(SLES) (Class I)
Assistant Director (Engineering) Eng.(Ms). P.P. Jayasekara (SLES) (Class III)
Assistant Director (Engineering)
Assistant Director (Engineering)
Learn More
S. S. Mudalige Director General (Planning)
W.H. K. D. B. Rathnayake Director (Planning & Monitoring)
S. S.Godakanda Arachchige Deputy Director (Planning)
I. R. M. Kossinna Deputy Director (Planning)
Responsible Officers Name
Director General (Planning and Monitoring) Mr. S.S. Mudalige(SLPS)(Special Grade)
Director(Planning & Monitoring) Mr. W.H.K.D.B. Rathnayake (SLPS) (Class I)
Deputy Director(Planning & Monitoring) Mr. S.S. Godakandaarachchige (SLPS)(Class II)
Deputy Director (Planning & Monitoring) Mrs. I.R.M. Kossinna (SLPS)(Class II)
Learn More
S. J. M. H. C. Samarakoon Additional Secretary (Development)
H. M. S. R. Karunarathne Senior Assistant Secretary (Development)
Responsible Officers Name
Additional Secretary (Development) Mrs. S.J.M.H.C. Samarakoon (SLAS) (Special Grade)
Senior Assistant Secretary (Development) Mr. H.M.S.R. Karunarathne (SLAS) (Class I)
Learn More
K.M. Gamini Rathnayake Procurement Specialist
Responsible Officers Name
Procurement Consultant Mr. Gamini Rathnayaka
Learn More | Go To Procurements
B. Ranaweera Additional Secretary (Rural Roads Development)
I. M.P. Gunarathne Director (Planning)
Responsible Officers Name
Additional Secretary (Rural Roads Development) B. Ranaweera
Learn More